Last week we spent my birthday in the cinema watching Oscar nominated movies all day long. A perfect way of celebrating as far as I’m concerned, but of course it’s fun to have some family over (and get presents!) too. So I had a belated B-day party on Sunday and some leftover yumminess ended up in tomorrow’s (Tuesday) bento.

Belated B-day Bento, 08-03-2011

Right container

  • The Adirondack Chick’s ‘Unstuffed Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers‘: brown rice with tomato, green peppers and zucchini (really good recipe!)
  • marinated mushrooms (cremini & namelo)
  • radish flowers
  • parsley olives on a skewer
  • garlic olives on a skewer
  • lettuce lining
  • basil, courgette and carrot details

Front container

  • marinated grilled courgette
  • raw vegetables: orange pepper, cauliflower, zucchini, cherry tomatoes, corn salad & rocket
  • store-bought baba ganoush (really wanted to bring some of my homemade creamy hummus but ran out of it at the last minute)
  • fried tofu
  • mixed nuts

On the side

  • 1/2 apple
  • 1/2 Poire Williams

The gorgeous tulips were a present from my mother-in-law. Yep, the in-laws are awesome. :) My sister-in-law gave me my very first vegan cookbook for a present: La Dolce Vegan! by Sarah Kramer. And she didn’t even know I was looking for a cookery book to suit my new eating habits! She’s also the one who gave me the World Food Café cookbook that I recently raved about. So you may expect another review somewhere along the line. ;)

And finally — no birthday without cake! Newbie vegan or not. Here’s what I’ll be treating my colleagues to: vegan Brownies & Spicy Applesauce Cake with Lemon Frosting. YUM!

Vegan birthday cakes 2011: Vegan Brownies & Spicy Applesauce Cake with Lemon Frosting