Here are my two latest bentos, both office lunches: Meatless Monday’s Sweety Bento (no.167) and last week’s Kigoi Bento (no.166).

Sweety Bento (#167)

Now that’s unusual: half of this bento is dedicated to dessert! A whole tier full of sweet things… Nomnomnom. ;)

Sweety Bento (#167)

Main tier: pita bread on broad-leaved endive (escarole), spicy falafel, baked onion swirls and gherkin slices. Sweet tomato-chili sauce on the side (a mix of ketchup and vegan sweet chili).

Dessert tier: stewed pear with berry sauce, beach ball apple, chigai giri banana, kruidnootje (tiny speculoos-like cookie) and semolina with apricot-almond sauce in the cute bear cup. The pudding was made with a drinking variety of coconut milk that I needed to use up. Oh, and don’t forget the clementine mandarin on the side.

Before you ask if I didn’t go hungry with just this bento for lunch… I also had two small sammies. :) That’s why I indulged in bringing such a ‘flimsy’ bento!

Kigoi Bento (#166)

Kigoi are monochrome yellow carp and I’ve got two of them swimming in my bento! If I eat them… does that make me less of a v-gan? ;P

Kigoi Bento #166

Don’t you just love the brightness of this bento?

Main tier: pumpkin risotto fishies (almond fin), toasted almond flakes, garden cress, grilled eggplant and sweet African peppers (both from a jar), lettuce and radish flowers.

Middle tier: kiwi fruit & two clementines.

Upper tier: lettuce, other half of kiwi fruit, spring onion pom-pom and tomato salad with garlic & balsamic vinegar vinaigrette that was left over from the oven-roasted tomatoes and red onions of the previous night’s dinner.

YUM.

On the side a ‘vintage’ flamingo tin with retro kruidnootjes and mini Zaanse kermis cookies.

I don’t think I will use an onigiri mold for risotto again though because the rice gets less moist.

Check out What’s for Lunch Wednesday (week 81) for other great bentos!

Meatless Monday button

Midnight Maniac’s Meatless Mondays

