I thought I’d let you have a look at the pile of books I’ll be picking from this year. Well, part of it anyway — I didn’t feel like emptying the whole bookcase ;)

Part of my Mount To Be Read in 2011

I’m not saying I will read all of these books in 2011; just, you know, showing you what treats are still in store for me. Some of them are tied to a certain event: later this year I’ll be reading along Murakami’s 1q84 with the Japanese Literature Book Group on In Spring It Is The Dawn (if I can wait that long), Ammaniti’s Ik haal je op, ik neem je mee (I’ll Steal You Away) is the Boekgrrls’ February group read and early that month @inspringthedawn, @Chinoiseries and I will be buddy-reading Pinball, 1973 during a low-key mini readathon on Twitter for which the date hasn’t be set yet. Please join us if you want to!

The Murakami’s are also part of the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge that I’ve joined, and I scheduled several other books on Mt. TBR for one or more of my numerous reading challenges. Numerous? Decide for yourself!

Just two more weeks to go of Bellezza’s Japanese Literature Challenge #4!
Progress: 4/6
The Pillow Book, Sei Shonagon
Silence, Shusaku Endo
The Temple of the Golden Pavilion, Yukio Mishima
Hear the Wind Sing, Haruki Murakami
Starting Kawabata’s Snow Country today and in my current reading pace I might just make it in time to end with 5 books! Unfortunately Pinball, 1973 has been delayed till my buddy-read early Feb.
Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge
Progress: 1/5
Hear the Wind Sing, Haruki Murakami
Foodie’s Reading Challenge
Progress: 0/2
What’s in a Name Challenge #4
Progress: 1/6
Poelie the Terrible‘, Frans Pointl (category ‘evil’)
Personal ‘Best Foreign Book’ Reading Challenge (ongoing)
Progress: 11/12
I just need to read either The Chosen (Chaim Potok) or The Corrections (Jonathan Franzen). But I’ve taken so long trying to finish this challenge that I started in 2008 (!) I should really read both.
BOTNS +11 in '11 challenge logo BOTNS +11 in ’11 Reading Challenge
I decided to try and up my amount of books read in 2011 by joining the +11 challenge of the Books on the Nightstand podcast/weblog. Which means I need to read 40 books this year! While not giving in to quantity over quality — of course.
Progress: 4/40 (see below)
Goodreads Task Completion Challenge logo I’m also participating in a rather complex challenge called ‘Task Completion‘ on Goodreads, but I’m not taking that one as seriously as the rest.


The books I’ve read or finished in the first two weeks of 2011:

  1. Kalme chaos (Caos Calmo) by Sandro Veronesi (Boekgrrls’ December 2010 group read)
  2. Hear the Wind Sing by Haruki Murakami
  3. Poelie de Verschrikkelijke (‘Poelie the Terrible‘) by Frans Pointl
  4. Blacklands by Belinda Bauer (Boekgrrls’ January group read)

I plan to make a ‘Read in 2011′ page on Graasland during next weekend’s Bloggiesta, just like I’ll be updating my challenge page(s) and sidebar. My complete to-do list for the Bloggiesta will be posted early this week.

The Sunday Salon is a virtual gathering of booklovers on the web, where they blog about bookish things of the past week, visit each others weblogs, oh — and read ;)