I’m a bit slow (again) in logging the last September vegetables from my CSA loot. What can I say… As long as I’m not letting my greens go spoiled, right? :)

In week 37 I received the last of the summer veggies.

Amelishof CSA vegetables week 37, 2010

The Swiss chard and leek went into a stir-fry of which I used some leftovers in my noodles for Tsukimi Bento (#106), which I’ll post about later on. If you follow the link you’ll see I also added a piece of corn cob.

Organic CSA vegetables week 38, 2010

September 22nd brought the first of fall.

Amelishof CSA vegetables week 38, 2010

  • Choggia beets (oops, those are still in the fridge!)
  • Red lettuce
  • Basil
  • Tomatoes
  • Scallions
  • Green beans

The beans and some lettuce were part of a gado-gado dish with organic potatoes, cucumber and carrots from our other local resource, Groenekans. That was on the day our new veggies arrived, so we also added some Bloemendaalse gele Savoy cabbage.

Organic CSA vegetables week 39, 2010

And here’s last week’s loot!

Amelishof organic CSA vegetables week 39, 2010

  • Santana apples
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Flat leaf parsley (we prefer this to curly)
  • Savoy cabbage Bloemendaalse gele (2 heads)
  • Corn ears
  • Zucchini

Bloemendaalse gele is an old vegetable that is too labour-intensive for commercial cultivation. It has an unappetizing nickname: slobber cabbage :\ But it’s actually quite nice, a variety in between green cabbage and sweetheart cabbage.

Now, while we wait for tomorrow’s new batch of veggies, I’ll leave you with a view on Amelishof garden where all those treasures come from! As you may have noticed in the pictures, the weather got its seasons all mixed up… Dark and rainy at the end of summer and sunny in early autumn. Let’s hope it stays that way!

Amelishof