Again, Gnoe seemed to have disappeared from earth after her last update in hour 19 of the readathon. Yeah, well: this weekend wasn’t as relaxing as I had meant it to be ;) I tried to keep my calender clean of other activities, but in the end I failed ;) So I had a fun but full few days.

The hard part for me in the readathon is balancing actual reading with community activities like cheering and mini-challenges. In October I had read for 6 and a half hours; 300+ pages. It’s not that much more this time, even though I’ve kept myself on a tight leash about pc-time — and I was WAY more relaxed!

Next time (yes, you’ve read that right) I should try to feel less frustrated about this sort of thing. Because I really think the community aspect is an important part of the readathon: otherwise I could do a 24 hour session on my own! And it’s like Kihana said in her comment: as long as you have fun — fun while reading makes for a 100% successful Read-a-Thon!

Cover Her Fearful Symmetry (Audrey Niffenegger)And yes, I absolutely enjoyed it. A major difference with the October readaton was that I have only been reading in 1 paper book and 1 audio book. I had planned on starting with short stories, but the novel I had started a few days before, Her Fearful Symmetry, is such a pageturner that I didn’t feel like picking up anything else. It even bothered me when I had to switch to Paul Auster’s Invisible on audio when I had to bake for today’s hanami picnic!

Now, here are my answers to the end-of-the-event meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
    Hour 9 (= hour 11 for me because I had started early), when I got back from the butoh peformance and I was tired. I now know for sure: I just need to sleep during the readathon because I get really depressed when I don’t.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
    Definitely Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger!!! GREAT Readathon book!
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
    Nope.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
    Nothing in particular. But for me it worked well to start earlier in the day (starting at 2pm is no fun).
  5. How many books did you read?
    Two, but I finished none.
  6. What were the names of the books you read?
    Her Fearful Symmetry (Audrey Niffenegger) and Invisible (Paul Auster) on audio.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most?
    Do you really need to ask? I thought I’d been quite clear on that! LOL
  8. Which did you enjoy least?
    Well, since I’ve only read two… Invisible, by Paul Auster. But that’s because I found it hard to concentrate on the audiobook when I also needed to concentrate on my cooking.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
    I wasn’t a cheerleader but I’m very grateful to those who were!
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
    I want to participate again in October! I thought springtime would be better for a readathon but now I’m not so sure anymore… Maybe next time I’ll even be an official cheerleader! I’m already used to cheering, so… ;)

The finals

24 Hour Read-a-thonTime period: Sat 10.30 – Sun 11.30 (with a 4 and a half hour time-out on Saturday night)

Total of time read: 8 hrs 0 mins
Total amount of pages read: 224 pages (& 1 hour of audio)
Mini-challenges I participated in: 4 (Intro meme, Kick Off Champions, Book Title Poetry, End of Event meme)

I lost track of my blogging and cheering time, but I’d say about 4 hours.

The Pillow Book

I had planned to read this weeks batch of The Pillow Book entries during the readathon, but…

1) My main readathon book was way to exciting to switch to something else.
2) Again, I didn’t get as much reading done as expected, or hoped.

Excuses, I know. I’ll just need to catch up with Sei Shōnagon once I’ve finished Her Fearful Symmetry! Which probably won’t take too long since I plan on reading every free moment in the next few days ;)

Other bookish things

Book The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de ZoetI’m really happy to have received The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet this week: David Mitchell’s new novel. I’ve been looking forward to it for years now! I’ll probably start reading as soon as I’ve finished Niffenegger, oh — and the next entries for The Pillow Book of course ;) A random connection between these two novels (I’m forgetting about the journal for a minute) is a Dutch character in an English book. Mitchell has Jacob de Zoet (obviously) while Marijke de Graaf plays a role in Her Fearful Symmetry.

This also was the very last week of Bookcrossing Convention Monopoly. Team De Boekenleggers didn’t win, but we did manage to loose all our books during the game! Our last release was on Easter Monday, in the busy shopping street of Lage Vuursche — where there’s only one actual shop… Thanks to iiwi for being such a great game host!

The Sunday Salon is a virtual gathering of booklovers on the web, where they blog about bookish things of the past week, visit each others weblogs, oh — and read ;)