It’s been three hours since my last confession erm… update, of which I’ve been reading for about two. Updating my blog, visiting others and cheering on twitterweb took me a whole hour from 2-3 so that’s not exactly how I imagined it :\ 15-20 max I’d said but hey, it’s important to participate and not just join the readathon! So I’m okay with it (for now).

Mini-challenge 2: kick-off strategy

Like I said, my strategy was to start early in the day so I would have some peaceful hours of reading before all hell broke loose in bookblogger land ;) In November October it didn’t feel right to start during the afternoon and my decision to ‘cheat’ this time really worked for me :)

Most of the day I’ve been sitting in my fav reading chair, next to the little table that I went of to get in November October just two hours before the readathon started. Here’s the picture I posted at the time. But for the last two hours I transfered to a chair in front of the window, to catch the sun coming in! It is really rare for me to post a picture of myself, so you’d better appreciate it ;) Look carefully and you’ll see my cat Ringo keeping me company under the chair… Yes, we’re a weird bunch here ;)

I even tried to sit on the balcony for a while but that was too cold, even though my other feline friend Juno tried to keep me warm & comfy. Reading outside is definitely something I couldn’t have done in November! I would try it again now if I hadn’t decided to go listen to Paul Auster on audio, reading his new novel Invisible to me. Why? I haven’t finished Niffenegger yet, but I really need to go bake some for tomorrow’s o-hanami picknick!

But I’m getting hugely side-tracked. The question was what I had gathered around me for the readathon kick-off. Not much: book, notebook, iPone (for timer, clock, dictionary, tweetdeck and twitpic) and photocamera. I started off with Café Latte and went on to have different kinds of tea. It might sound spartan to some, but I don’t need much ;)

Mini-challenge 4: book sentence

Bart’s Bookshelf asked us to make a sentence out of 3 or 4 book titles. He warned us not to allot too much time to it and I took his advice, so it’s not as perfect as I would have liked ;)

On Chesil Beach The Savage Detectives Waltz with Bashir In Search of a Distant Voice

Status report

24 Hour Read-a-thonTime period: 14.00 – 17.00
Time read since last update: 1 hrs 50 mins
Pages read since last update: 61

Currently reading: Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger; starting Invisible by Paul Auster

Total of time read: 4 hrs 20 mins
Total amount of pages read: 125

Books finished: 0 books
Mini-challenges I participated in: 3 (Intro meme, Kick Off Champions, Book Title Poetry)