On the threshold of Thursday I would like to write a quick post about the Booking Through Thursday topic of last week: Preferences.

Which do you prefer? (Quick answers–we’ll do more detail at some later date)

Well, I’ll be as brief as possible but I do feel the need to add short explanations to my answers. Why? Because I never like to read plain lists myself either!

  • Reading something frivolous? Or something serious?
    That depends on my mood. Frivolous when I’m tired (busy at work) or on a holiday, but over all I like a serious read.
  • Paperbacks? Or hardcovers?
    Hardcovers look good on my bookshelf ;) And their sustainability is probably better. But paperbacks are often lighter and thus easier to bring along, read in bed etc.
  • Fiction? Or Nonfiction?
    Mostly fiction because it is easier (quicker) to take in and I read for recreation. But I like to alternate with non-fiction when the topic is interesting or (and) the book well-written. Right now I’m reading non-fiction: The Mapmaker’s Wife by Robert Whitaker.
  • Poetry? Or Prose?
    Prose. Prose. And prose.
  • Biographies? Or Autobiographies?
    I like both, as long as they are well-written. Autobiographies are in danger of being badly written (having an interesting personality is no guarantee for being a good writer), and the author might keep his/her secrets hidden in the closet. Or overexagerate ;) Then again, the information is first hand! Biographies can get too sensational or spin a story out of nothing because well… the writer could not really find anything really interesting to talk about. Besides The Mapmaker’s Wife the last biography I read was about Marlene Dietrich, written by her daughter. And it was really b o r i n g — more than 1000 pages long!
  • History? Or Historical Fiction?
    Hm, probably authentic historical fiction ;) Although… The Mapmaker’s Wife seems good ;) My favourite read of 2008 was historical fiction: The Teahouse Fire, by Ellis Avery. I really loved it!
  • Series? Or Stand-alones?
    Again: both. Series to read in a span of several years so that you know what to expect of the characters etc. I wrote about that in my review of What Came Before He Shot Her, the 14th Elizabeth George mysteries I recently read.
  • Classics? Or best-sellers?
    YES! (Wasn’t that the question? ;)
  • Lurid, fruity prose? Or straight-forward, basic prose?
    I guess I prefer straight-forward, basic.
  • Plots? Or Stream-of-Consciousness?
    Plots. (What can I say, I am learning to be short here! ;)
  • Long books? Or Short?
    Long or medium so you can really dive into a story. I don’t like ‘m short because then they are over when I am just beginning to enjoy myself.
  • Illustrated? Or Non-illustrated?
    Depends on the book. But if I really have to choose: no illustrations because I like to create my own images.
  • Borrowed? Or Owned?
    Owned if it is so good I would like to keep the book. Borrowed if I don’t (that saves money, doesn’t it? ;)
  • New? Or Used?
    Erm, used is okay if the books are in good condition: not dirty (!) or smelly or falling apart :( New is better :)
  • Adding my own question: Translation? Or original language?
    I’m Dutch but I like to read English books in their original language as much as possible: I believe the author’s style of writing is important to a good book as well. I would like to do so with all languages I can understand (French and German), but my vocabulary is too rusty and don’t feel like training myself when I am actually having time off.

So much for my preferences. I am afraid I will get excommunicated by btt for being too verbose… But really, this is quick for me! ;)

