Today’s bento was not completely Indonesian (as you see) but Indonesian-hinted ;) It was really good though and I was still so full when I went home that I didn’t even eat the big rice cracker that was left (and is not on the picture so it might have been fate ;)

Gnoegnoe's Indonesian-hinted bento #23

On the side some melon. The tier in the middle contains roasted almonds, soy sauce, peanut sauce, steamed carrots, onigiri of plain rice, some rice vinegar and plum furikake, and finally some not very Indonesian cherry tomatoes filled with Boursin herb cheese and a basil leaf ;)

The right tier: ingredients to make gado-gado with the peanut sauce! Sugar snap peas, baked tofu, steamed carrots, (more tofu), brussels sprouts trying to hide behind some salad, boiled egg and serundeng (baked coconut topping). Yummy!

My bento’s are usually ‘four o’clock bento’s‘ as I also take some sandwiches for earlier in the day (10-12 o’clock). I started taking bento’s to work because I was too hungry around four and I would snack too much, but it isn’t working the way it should because now I am often still a bit too full when I get home…
So I think I should change my eating pattern. Maybe I am just going to take one sandwich for 10 o’clock, then have my bento at midday and leave a snack (like the rice cracker I didn’t ate) for the afternoon.

Something else I am thinking about is Bento #25. Of course I would like to do something special again but I don’t have any real ideas yet… (And I am not very crafty ;) I might do something with a silver theme but that won’t be easy! Suggestions are very welcome – as always :)

