I am really busy at work (and also working at home) so I don’t get to blogging a lot these days. Shame on me, because I have been making my 10th bento – an anniversary!

Bunny in the moon bento (#10 top)August 2nd ~ Bento tō / Bunny in the moon (#10)

Ah, my tenth bento, an anniversary! That had to be a special one :) I looked up the word (character) for ten and discovered that, among others, it also meant pagoda or tower. So I had this great idea to make a pagoda in my bento! But it turned out un-doable: my bento box is either too small or I can’t work tiny enough LOL. And since it was a work day I made something more easy with the ingredients I had already collected: a bunny-in-the-moon bento.Bunny in the moon bento (#10 bottom)

  • (top tier) carrot moon on a bed of rucola salad
  • cheese bunny
  • cucumber moons
  • cherry tomatoes and pine nuts
  • baked Mediterranean polenta bars and sun-dried tomato strips
  • (bottom tier) tabbouleh
  • smoked almonds
  • La vache qui rit (hiding)
  • homemade pesto
  • broad bean salad
  • (on the side) black bean soy drink, seedless grapes and festive smarties (next time I won’t put those together…)

August 3rd ~ Friday Bento (#11)

Just a working day bento. But… it’s Friday so I could have some crisps in it!

Bento 11

  • (top) organic crisps mixed with cashews
  • cheese crackers
  • cherry tomatoes
  • dried apricots soaked in apple juice
  • tabbouleh
  • (bottom) egg filled with homemade pesto
  • bell pepper tail filled with cream cheese and chives
  • slice of carrot as divider
  • spinach cream cheese pie wedge (in aluminum foil)
  • corn cob
  • dried cranberries (almost invisible)
  • (on the side) big rice cracker and white seedless grapes

August 5th ~ Remembrance pick-nick bento (#12)

On Sunday my brother, husband and I went to my father’s grave for the anniversary of his dying day (this sounds weird…) The weather was great and we brought a pick-nick bento, some rosé whine and music. It had been my mother’s birthday a few days before and since she’s been dead for 14 years now, Sunday seemed like our personal Obon Festival. Maybe next year we’ll make some traditional obon foods as well ;) I have a year to find out what they are LOL! Well, we had a really lovely remembrance day.

Personal obon bento (#12)

  • (top left) Japanese green bean salad with sesame dressing
  • cherry tomato (rising sun)
  • (bottom left) potato salad
  • (top right) cheese crackers
  • filled eggs with homemade pesto
  • cucumber moons
  • (bottom) smoked almonds
  • in aluminum foil: spinach cheesecake wedges
  • water melon sheep ;)
  • (on the side) ginger cake (homemade by our neighbour)
  • smarties
  • dried strawberries
  • Japanese mix of beans and peanuts
