Première Bento #1
I’m a bit slow in blogging but two weeks ago I made my first real bento to bring along on a 16 km hiking trip in the south of Holland (NS route Maas-/Swalmdal from Reuver to Swalmen, near Roermond). It was a picnic for two so it didn’t fit all in one box, but that’s OK, right?

What was in it?

  • egg-filled tomato with pine nuts
  • hummus and small crackers
  • cherry tomatoes
  • cashew nuts
  • La vache qui rit cheese wedge
  • puff pastry with paprika curry
  • cherries (on the side)

Now I have to figure out which bento group to subscribe to… There are so many of them! Vegan Bento for example (but I am a vegetarian and not vegan so I’d have to take care which bento’s to post) or Lunchbox Recipes at Flickr. I’ll have to study them all and decide… Poor me ;)

BTW hiking was great as well: quite a varied landscape (& weather ;) It might be a nice trip to make with the Wandelgrrls some day.