Today I’m cooking fresh asparagus for the 3rd time in my 35-year old life, because my brother is coming for dinner. Asparagus have been his favourite vegetables for as long as I can remember. I always thought preparing asparagus was a total disaster, but if you’ve got the right tools it’s not that big a deal. I have been practicing twice and now it’s time to put my skills through the test.

asparagus
Menu
white asparagus
hollandaise
mashed potatoes (organic)
boiled eggs
green avocado salad (made with lettuce from my hometown Utrecht)
and peaches for desert

For those of you who can’t cook: hollandaise is a very stressful sauce to make! ;-)

So why would I want to do this? Because I have the best brother in the world and I have this recurring cancellation-date with him: I have been breaking I-don’t-remember-how-many appointments lately. So he deserves a treat for putting up with me now that he is coming for real!